College Eating habits

Hello, I am a sophomore in college and have, as many do, gained my college weight. I am trying very hard to exercise and stay healthy but eating healthy is a challenge when I am surrounded by pizza cookies cake cheese pop tarts and just about any unhealthy thing you can think of. Does anyone have any tips on how to remain healthy and not give in to all these terrible foods as well as a good way to limit my portion sizes??? I’m in need of some serious guidance. Thank you so much!

1 Like

Here are my 2 cents. This is what works for me: I eat protein, do not avoid fat, but avoid sugar and carbs. To lose weight, which I did and continue to do so, until I reach my goal, I eat smaller portions, but I NEVER stay hungry. Staying hungry makes you lose muscle, not fat, which is not what I want. In order not to stay hungry between meals, I eat nuts and dried fruit, and a ton of dark chocolate. (I do not recommend eating a lot of dark chocolate since it affects sleep quality, but that is my weakness). I make smoothies with the nuts and dried fruit and dark chocolate. I have NutriBullet, in which I would put any kind of nuts I have in the house as well as a range of dried fruit, yoghurt (because I love it and because it is probiotic), definitely dark chocolate (no more than a square from 80% or 90%), and water or tea. Then I put the smoothy in a thermos and have it with me at work. It has been the only thing that has worked for me so far as a work meal because I just do not see myself bringing actual food to work. No matter what I do, there is always something that is dripping and makes things messy.