How did you learn to cook? 🍴 Teacher / school / self-taught, etc?

I never had a formal cooking lesson or teacher (other than @maria - she’s great!). I remember in my Grade 7 Home Economics class the only thing I learned to make was “honey :honey_pot: butter”. This consisted of equal parts honey and butter, mixed and microwaved. Lol. I seriously didn’t have anything else I could make until nearly a decade later, as a young adult.

I’ve spent the last few years working on Mealime and thus cooking / experimenting with lots of new recipes and methods. I wouldn’t call myself a good cook, but I’m much more comfortable in the kitchen than I used to be.

1 Like

I still haven’t! :stuck_out_tongue: OK… I’m starting to pick up some tricks from using Mealime. I’m still kinda helpless in the kitchen, though. To be honest, I don’t really even want to learn to cook. I just want to eat good food!

1 Like

A lot of people in my family love to cook; my dad, my grandmother, but when I became a vegetarian in high school my family threw their hands in the air and told me I was on my own. I turned to cookbooks like the Moosewood and Niki and Dave’s Whole Foods Cookbook and started learning from them. When I was 21 I scored a job at an organic vegetarian restaurant in Copenhagen called Morgenstedet. The chef I worked along side had her PhD in food science and was being headhunted by Kraft and Nestle but her passion was in health not in making preservatives. So she worked in this incredibly underpaid job, making incredibly delicious food, and generously sharing a lot of her knowledge with me.

1 Like

That’s such an interesting story, thanks for sharing @cat! It must have been quite the experience cooking beside someone so knowledgable! :nerd: :book:

1 Like

Ive been taught at a very young age by my grnadmother to cook. I dont feel i can cook very well but the times i do cook im told im a good cook. If i am i owe it all to my grandma.

1 Like